Review: Slocum and the Hatchet Men

Slocum and the Hatchet Men
Slocum and the Hatchet Men by Jake Logan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have read a few Adult Westerns before, when I was younger and read very fast, I would sometimes add a few of these into my rotation in between longer and more in-depth books, as I could finish them in a couple of hours, and I would tend to skim the two or three obligatory sex scenes that appear in this type of book. Many of them contain pretty decent stories, though the quality in any given series can vary depending on the skill level of the ghostwriter involved. This one I found to be one of the more well written entries, with some interesting settings (Mormon Utah, and early San Francisco) with a minimum of items that detract from the narrative. The negatives I found in this book were a few modern colloquialisms slipping in now and again, and a very shoddy attempt at depicting a Chinese accent, in an otherwise fairly well done depiction of the Chinese characters integral to the plot. The action is well handled, and even the sex scenes are well done and actually flow with the story without seeming forced or tacked on. The settings are interesting and well drawn, and the plot is intriguing and handled well. Overall, a strong entry in the series, and one of the better Adult Westerns that I have read. If you like this kind of thing, this is the kind of thing you will like.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment